Winners Chosen for the 2009 Elwood S. Buffa Dissertation Award Competition

We are pleased to announce the winner and honorable mention for the 2009 Elwood S. Buffa Dissertation Award Competition. The purpose of the award is to identify and recognize outstanding doctoral research in the development of theory and/or applications of decision sciences completed during 2008. The competition is co-sponsored by McGraw-Hill/Irwin and the Decision Sciences Institute. The Competition coordinator was Funda Sahin, Associate Professor of Logistics at the University of Tennessee.

Eight submissions were received and entered into a two-stage review process. Each dissertation was subject to an initial screening by expert reviewers. This round resulted in the selection of four dissertations for further reviews. In the second round, three reviewers reviewed each of the remaining four dissertations.

The winner will receive a \$1,500 check and a plaque at the 2009 Decision

Sciences Institute Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana on November 17, 2009. The Honorable Mention Awardee will receive a plaque.

We wish to thank the many reviewers, who assisted in this process and congratulate the winners. In addition, each of the authors, who submitted a dissertation, should be proud of their efforts, since the reviewers were highly complimentary of all of the research submitted.

Winner

Amrou Awaysheh, Instituto de Empresa - IE Business School

Socially Responsible Practices in Operations & Supply Chains

Dissertation Advisor and Degree Granting Institution: Robert D. Klassen, University of Western Ontario

Honorable Mention

Christoph Bode, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETHZ)



Causes and Effects of Supply Chain Disruptions

Dissertation Advisor and Degree Granting Institution: Stephan M. Wagner, WHU - Otto, Beisheim School of Management, Germany

Thanks and appreciation to the following individuals, who assisted with reviewing:

Elliott Bendoly, Emory University
Barbara B. Flynn, Indiana University
Li-Lian Gao, Hofstra University
Sebastian Heese, Indiana University
Jay Jayaram, University of South Carolina
Murat Kristal, York University
Ann Marucheck, University of North Carolina
Roberta S. Russell, Virginia Tech University
Kaushik Sengupta, Hofstra University
Suresh Sethi, University of Texas
Dallas Chuck Sox, University of Alabama

For more information, please contact the Dissertation Award Competition Coordinator:

Funda Sahin, The University of Tennessee, fsahin@utk.edu

2009 Instructional Innovation Award Competition Announces Finalists

Monday, Nov. 16th, 2009 8:00-9:30 a.m.

The Integration of Real-World Student Projects into a MBA Program

Robert P. Sroufe (Duquesne University)

This case study can serve as a roadmap for how other business schools and faculty can develop their own approach to the integration of sustainability into project management and curricula. Real-world projects present opportunities for cross functional integration of an overall MBA curriculum and enrichment of individual classes.

Academic Service-Learning in Operations Management

Ravi S. Behara (Florida Atlantic University)
This paper presents the author's efforts to integrate the emerging emphasis on

community service in the United States with the undergraduate Operations Management course through the implementation of Academic Service-Learning into the curriculum. Academic Service-Learning is a pedagogy that integrates intentional ways of community service with instruction and reflection. Three community partners, a local food-pantry, an environmental protection organization, and a community garden, were involved.

Integration of Study Abroad with Information and Communication (ICT) Technology Solutions and Decision Making

P. Candace Deans (University of Richmond)
This teaching innovation integrates the study of communications technologies and IT decision making in the context of a two week study

abroad. The focus of the study abroad is the Middle East and Asia. This initiative is interdisciplinary in nature and incorporates hands-on experimentation with the technology in the country being studied.

For more information, please contact the Competition Coordinator:

Christine Kydd, University of Delaware, kyddc@lerner.udel.edu

32 Decision Line, October 2009